Pre-Latitude Excitement!!

I am SO excited for this Thursday, when I will be heading across the border in into Suffolk (boo!) for this year’s Latitude Festival!

This will be my first festival, and I can’t wait to experience it. I can’t believe I’ve not been to one yet, but so many of my friends have raved about Latitude/ V Festival / Reading, I felt I had to try it out for myself. I’m going to get the stereotypical British part of this post out of the way now, complaining about the weather, but it does look set to be pretty awful for the four days. But that’s all part of it right!?! Sloshing around for four days, caked in mud, blood, and beer, eating more Pringles than you thought possible, and finishing the weekend looking like you’ve trekked the Andes rather than been to a festival! However, I’m going into it with a positive mental attitude: I enjoy camping, some very good friends of mine will be there, I’m sure I’ll meet more great people too, everybody is going to be just as grim and disgusting as everyone else by the end of it, and, of course, there’s a strong line-up.

These are the bands/artists I’m most excited about seeing (hopefully not too many will clash!):

  1. Bon Iver
  2. Elbow
  3. Lana Del Rey (just as a brief aside, I’m in love this woman, and may well propose to her this weekend, keep an eye on the coverage)
  4. Bat for Lashes
  5. Alabama Shakes (only just started listening to them, but I love the sound of stateside Southern rock)

But Latitude isn’t just about the music, no no. There’s also a comedy tent where numerous comedians perform, some of whom I’m also keen to see:

  1. Tim Minchin
  2. Jack Dee
  3. Greg Davies (Inbetweeners teacher, what a hero)
  4. Phill Jupitus

So all in all, I think this coming weekend is going to INCREDIBLE. There will be lots to talk about after it, so I’m sure I’ll give a post or two over to describing the Latitude antics next week!

Leave a Reply

