Early morning photos

As I promised yesterday, I went out early this morning to catch some photos of the coast at sunrise. My body clock has been messed up, so yesterday evening, my 6pm nap turned into 5/6 hours of solid sleep. Not cool, given I’d planned to go out and have my first brewski at Imogen’s house (look at me speaking the lingo). That meant I was awake at midnight, and was for a good couple of hours. Calvin was in the same boat, but unluckily for him, he had an exam at 9am to look forward to. Long and short of it is, here are some early morning photos off the coast of IV. I haven’t touched any of these photos with editing software, by the way. The light and the camera were all I needed today. It would have felt wrong to change these. Enjoy.

Anacapa Hall, my home for a few days.

The beaches have a lot of seaweed, but I couldn’t really give a hoot.

I kind of like the glare in this one, I know photography connoisseurs will sneer. Let ’em.

Sunrise over the mountains that are just set back off the coast all along this stretch of the American coast.

However: Mountains = Tectonic Plates. Tectonic plates = earthquakes. Earthquakes = Tsunamis. Just don’t tell my Mum.

Campus Point.

This is where I first got goosebumps on my jog yesterday morning. I was struggling to compute such an amazing running route.

Pier, sunrise, boat. Clichéd but what can you do.

I saw my first pelican yesterday. Actually, I saw three with Imogen, flying in formation, like a squadron or something. This was as close as I could get to any this morning, with full zoom on. Before taking this photo, there had been about treble this amount of pelicans, but most of them flew away. These guys must be the hard ones that have nerves of steel, as far as birds go.

Talking of firsts, here’s the first racoon I have ever encountered. This little critter was positively brazen compared to the pelicans, I was about 2 feet away from him when I took this. They’re bigger than you expect them to be, must be the rich pickings in IV. This one was the size of a small-ish dog.

Another one of the sunrise, sorry. But just look at it…

2 thoughts on “Early morning photos

Leave a Reply

